Sound representation if you’ve been accused of speeding, reckless driving or another violation
Although the penalties for many traffic violations are relatively minor, others may come with serious consequences like a suspended driver’s license, large fines and even jail time. If you’ve been accused of a major traffic violation, an attorney with Nicholson Phillips can help. We proudly serve clients across Marietta, Canton and the surrounding areas, sticking to our core principles of providing honest, ethical and diligent legal counsel to each and every client. For a lawyer you can trust to explore all of your legal options, you can rely on our respected law firm.
Common types of traffic violations
The state of Georgia and individual municipalities have specific traffic laws that all drivers must know and follow. The following are common violations:
- Speeding. This is the most common type of traffic violation, defined as exceeding posted speed limits. Fines may be higher if you’re accused of speeding in a school or construction zone.
- Moving violations. Any infraction of a traffic law while a vehicle is in motion may be considered a moving violation. Common examples include running a red light, failure to stop for pedestrians at a crosswalk and failure to use a turn signal.
- Distracted driving. Cell phones, mobile devices, food and beverages, and passengers may all cause distractions for drivers. In Georgia, it is illegal to send text messages while operating a vehicle, and commercial drivers and individuals under 18 are not allowed to use cell phones at all when behind the wheel. Police may issue citations for distracted driving, especially if an accident has occurred.
- Reckless driving. This applies to traveling at speeds above 80 miles per hour or 20 miles per hour above the posted speed limit. It also includes using a public road to race other vehicles, weaving in and out of traffic and running stop signs or red lights.
- Leaving the scene. Also known as a hit-and-run, it is a serious crime to leave the scene of an auto accident in Georgia, even if you were not at fault. In some situations, this may result in a felony charge.
- Operating without a license. It is illegal in Georgia to operate a vehicle without a valid driver’s license.
Penalties may include fines and jail time
After you’ve been cited for a traffic violation, you may attend a court hearing and plead not guilty with the help of a criminal defense attorney. If the court agrees, you will have your ticket dismissed. If not, you may incur fines and points on your driver’s license. Accumulating 15 or more points within a two-year period will result in the loss of your license for up to 12 months.
Georgia also has “super speeder” violations that come with a minimum $200 fine for going more than 75 miles per hour on a two-lane road or 85 miles per hour on a four-lane highway. This fine is in addition to any others you may have to pay for speeding, moving violations and other infractions.